生理学模拟

正如一名机械师可以把一个破损的机器部件放回原位一样,医生也可以通过不断提高自己的能力,修复人体破损的器官。多所国际研究机构和大学联合在一起正在通过应用ANSYS软件,帮助并且改善人体的仿真模拟过程,创建并且完善更好的生命治疗方法。

ANSYS软件为多学科的物理模拟提供了最佳的解决方案,他可以输入复杂的生理学模型,模拟复杂生理学间的相互作用,并且自动的进行设计优化分析,可以进行单独环境以及所有环境下的模拟。

通过以上仿真分析模型,并且结合如核磁共振和CT等电磁技术的应用,医疗人员可以制造一个人造器官和设备去帮助或者治愈脊柱,心脏和骨骼等疾病的病人。

在虚拟的人体生理学计划中(VPHOP),一家欧洲的生物医学公司对骨质疏松症和骨折治疗已经达到了尖端的水平,这是利用ANSYS软件获得成功的一个典型案例。该VPHOP项目正在开发基于某类特定病人的仿真模拟,根据诊断成像的结果创建具体仿真模型,并将该信息导入ANSYS软件进行模拟,从而预测在骨架上所承受负载的各种活动。通过仿真模拟,医生可以考虑骨骼手术的风险性,并可以根据每个患者的具体骨折部位进行手术。

 

脑动脉瘤内流线

Courtesy Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center and MMS.

另一个例子则来源于AnyBody这个人体建模仿真系统,奥尔堡大学与AnyBody技术中心一起研发了一种更精确模拟整个骨架的模型。该项目利用ANSYS软件为骨头上的肌肉提供所施加的载荷。研究人员可以考虑不同病人的骨骼运动,肌肉力量和关节的各种反应,然后分析患者骨架内任何一块骨头的强度和疲劳程度。医疗保健人员则从模拟分析的结果中评估骨骼的运动和肌肉的力量,然后决定将如何进行骨骼的植入。此项研究的最终目标是针对各种标准的活动确定一种正确的骨骼植入方式。

当工程师和医生把软件建模与电磁成像有效的结合后,将能够实现更多的人体的三维仿真模拟分析。ANSYS软件已经成功的掌握了许多系统的重要信息(例如呼吸系统,心血管系统,骨骼系统或神经系统),在这些系统中,研究人员对一维分析并不感兴趣,而ANSYS可以对这些系统进行了几乎完全近似的3 – D模拟。研究人员的最终目标就是利用只读存储器(ROM)对人体的其他部分——特别是一些需要给出具体图像的部位,去设计并创建一个详细的3-D模拟分析。这些模拟可以使医疗人员更加有效并且更加节约成本的去测试患者的植入方式(如骨骼和关节)以及医疗设备的运行状况(如心律仪)

 

吸气过程中的面部空气流线

Geometry courtesy Materialise.

Physiological Modeling

Just as a mechanic can replace the broken parts of a machine, doctors are constantly improving their ability to replace broken parts of the human body. ANSYS, in collaboration with several international research firms and universities, is helping to improve the process of modeling the human body to both create and prescribe life-bettering treatments.

ANSYS software offers the best solution for advanced multiphysics modeling by designing software that can import complex biological geometries, model complex physics interactions and perform automatic design exploration analysis, all within a single simulation environment.

The use of these models, combined with electromagnetic applications such as MRI and CT technology, allows healthcare professionals to create implants and devices to help heal and cure ailments of the spine, heart and bones.

The Virtual Physiological Human Project (VPHOP), a European consortium of biomedical companies on the cutting edge of treatments for osteoporosis and bone fracture, is one such example of what ANSYS software is working to achieve. The VPHOP is developing patient-specific models based on diagnostic imaging, incorporating that information into ANSYS simulation software, and consequently predicting the load various activities put on a skeleton. These models then allow clinicians to consider the risk and location of fracture for each patient.

 

Pathlines, colored by velocity, in cerebral vessel with aneurysm

Courtesy Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center and MMS.

Another example is AnyBody, a collaboration between Aalborg University and AnyBody Tech that is developing more-accurate models of the entire skeleton. The project uses ANSYS software to provide loads applied by the muscles onto the bones. Researchers can consider the movement, muscular force and joint reactions of various patients then analyze the movements for stress and fatigue on any bone of the skeleton. As healthcare professionals assess the movement and force data from the model, they can determine how an implant will perform. The goal is to use this information to confirm proper behavior of an implant for various standard activities.

As engineers and doctors work to meld modeling software with electromagnetic imaging, more of the body will be rendered in three dimensions. ANSYS software is closing in on success with a 3-D model that captures a location of interest for various systems (respiratory, cardiovascular, skeletal or nervous) while the sections of less interest are rendered in 1-D. The ultimate vision is to enable designers to create detailed  3-D models of any part of the body — especially those parts needed to understand a given phenomenon — while using reduced-order models (ROM) for the rest of the body, de facto combining solution efficiency and model accuracy. These models will enable healthcare professionals to test patient-specific implants (such as bones and joints) and medical devices (such as those for cardiac rhythm management), in an efficient and cost-effective time frame.

 

Pathlines showing air flow patterns around face during inhalation

Geometry courtesy Materialise.