骨科研究

  植入到人体内部的人造髋关节,膝盖,脊椎骨,以及其它骨骼部件都面临着巨大的挑战,这其中包括诸如更多人造骨骼的材料特性,人体生理学,外科手术过程和人造骨骼的制造工艺等方面的问题。那些已经奠定了骨科研究基础的先驱们——其中的很多人现在已经成为了这个行业的领导人——他们一直依赖于利用ANSYS软件进行分析,以帮助他们来避免行业风险,提高认识,加快在医药行业的发展。

在髋关节假体的应力和覆盖计算
Courtesy CADFEM.

  最近,针对没有任何两个患者的骨骼是相同的,一种尺寸的人造骨骼无法满足所有患者的问题,人造骨骼的研究侧重于如何通过很少的模型设计来满足大多数人的需求,这种研究是一种理想化的商业折中模式。但是,设计者正在研究考虑是否能够真正创造,并通过更少的测试,设计一种用来处理可能发生大的变化的设备。

  这正是科学家和研究人员面临的挑战,与此同时ANSYS的工程仿真技术也在面临着巨大的挑战,在面对不断增加有代表性的患者,必须去设计更加有效率以及更加节约成本的设备。

  虚拟的模型可以帮助研究人员了解设备是如何在一个病人体内运行的,然后迅速改进并且完善设备的移植。对于如何设计或者选择一个发生在人体内部合适的物理模型,并且保证这个模型适合无数变化的这个问题是一个不断发展的过程。 ANSYS提供了一种多学科的模拟方法,使临床医生能够创造一个虚拟的骨骼和其它器官的海量数据库,并且能够提供不断在有机体内研究中发现的各种人体的变化 。

  在这些设计中,可通过使用结构和显示分析方式,利用虚拟模型进行仿真模拟,并模拟测试在正常和极端条件下的工作状况。这些模型不仅可以让研究人员能够利用这些结果进行下一步研究——或者利用一个硅片测试去优化设备,以满足每个患者的正常要求——而且也可以降低成本和弥补市场需求。

  ANSYS公司的科学家和骨科科学家共同携手开发出了一个独特的工作流程,通过这个流程可以将一个植入到病人体内的特定骨骼的医学图像转化成标准的全3维结构模型。经过更加精化的设计,新的解决方案将超越现有的模型,继续试验则可以依据每个患者特制一个植入骨骼—— 或者依据患者和商业要求设计一个可以接受的解决方案。不管具体的解决方案是什么,这个过程都可以为研究不断增长的数据库增加一些数据。

Orthopedics

Artificial hips, knees, spinal implants, and other replacement orthopedic parts present unique challenges related to material properties, human physiology, surgical procedures and manufacturing processes. The pioneers that laid the foundation for the industry — many of whom are now leaders in developing orthopedic products and procedures — have always relied on ANSYS to help manage risk, improve insight and accelerate product development in the biomedical industry.

Stress calculation in the hip prosthesis and cap
Courtesy CADFEM.

More recently, research is focusing on how no two patients are alike: A one-size-fits-all prosthesis may not be attainable, whereas the design of a few models that fit a vast majority of the population is an ideal business compromise. But can you really create, much less test, designs that address the large variations that could occur?

That is the ongoing challenge for scientists and researchers. ANSYS is addressing that challenge with engineering simulation technology that has allowed more efficient and cost-effective design of devices for an ever-increasing representation of patients.

Virtual models allow researchers to understand how a device will function in a patient, and then to quickly move forward to refine the implant. The design or selection of the best-fit model for the countless variations that occur in the population is an evolving process. ANSYS leads the way in multiphysics modeling, which allows clinicians to create an unlimited database of virtual bones and other organs, offering as many variations on the human body as researchers would find in vivo.

From these designs, virtual prototypes can be modeled then tested under normal and extreme conditions using structural analysis and explicit modeling. These models not only allow researchers to take those results to the next step — using in silico testing to optimize devices that will be the right fit for each patient — but also to reduce the cost and time of bringing a prosthesis to market.

ANSYS has worked hand in hand with scientists and orthopedics companies to develop a unique workflow that will transform a standard biomedical image to a full 3-D structural modeling of an implant inserted in a patient-specific bone. As these designs are refined, new solutions will outperform existing models. Continued testing may result in implants tailor-made for each patient — or an acceptable compromise that considers patient and business satisfaction regardless of the specific solution, the process is adding additional information for an ever-growing database for further research.