药物输送

  制药公司通过更多样化的形式优先研发有效的药物,迎接发展的基本挑战:他们期望研究人员能够利用工程的方法使药物的传递更加有效。在正确的位置使用正确的剂量,这个问题的关键意义一点也不亚于安全、方便以及有效的重要性,而且这点与医疗成本随着时间的不断上涨,如何削减成本的观点保持一致。

  药物的效力会受到身体接收药物部位时间长短的影响,同时也会受到药物进入人体输送方式的影响,全新而有效的输送方式有能力去降低药剂量的使用,并且能够降低广泛存在的,而且是无意识的药物副作用的影响。   

 

经过导尿管的药物输送

Courtesy Intelligent Light.

  通过ANSYS软件全面多学科的应用,设计人员能够创建一个配药设备的虚拟模型,这个模型可以考虑诸如颗粒大小、药品成分的组成、流量,以及人体生理学等参数。医疗保健人员可以得到这种药物的反应将如何在设备中进行,另外这种药物将如何有效地传播到身体的目标区域,从而进一步优化药品和医疗设备的设计。

  直接输送药物到病痛位置,这是一种正在不断成长的领域——尤其对于那些非常昂贵的药物来说显得更加重要。例如,通过减少药物在身体内部的传送时间可以降低药物输送到脊椎时的医疗疼痛感。然而,在设计直接输液治疗方法时,必须考虑脊髓的输送环境。通过流体力学分析与医疗成像技术的结合,研究人员可以开发一种方法去预测药物的分布。

  使用相同的方法,医疗保健人员可以进一步分析不同注射方法的效果,例如连续注射与不连续注射的差别,注射药物在人体内部分布位置的影响。医疗保健人员可以通过模拟的基本图像,针对具有不同生理差异的特定的病人进行定制的治疗方法。

  当前较好的一个例子是一款可以被吸入,而不是注射的产品的研发设计。医药研究人员在这款干粉吸入器的关键技术中利用了ANSYS软件。通过利用流体动力学模拟,研究人员已经能够懂得了吸入器工作过程并且提高了它的性能,确保了更多的药物尽可能的进入到身体的确切地点。虚拟仿真模拟,现在正在被应用于装置的设计修改中。

  药物输送的仿真模型,可以为医生提供设备的评估以及设备的优化设计,并且可以考虑到患者身体结构的差异性所带来的影响。所有的这些因素都将为节约药物进入市场的时间以及药物测试和认证的资金消耗做出更大的帮助。

Courtesy BD Technologies and ICEM CFD Engineering.

内置导管

Courtesy A.C. Ghigny.

Drug Delivery

Pharmaceutical companies go beyond the basic challenges of developing more effective drugs in more varied forms: They look to researchers to engineer ways to deliver the drug more effectively. The correct dosage to the right location is critical not just from safety, convenience and efficacy standpoints, but from a cost-cutting perspective in this time of rising healthcare costs.

Drug potency is affected by its delivery system as well as the length of time it takes to get the drug to the affected region in the body. Efficient new methods of delivery have the potential to reduce dosages and side effects related to unintended but widespread dispersion of the drug.

Drug delivery through catheter

Courtesy Intelligent Light.

The comprehensive multiphysics available in ANSYS software enable designers to create a virtual model of a drug-dispensing device that considers parameters such as particle size, composition and flow as well as human physiology. Healthcare professionals can gain insight into how the drug reacts within the device and how efficiently it travels to the targeted area of the body, leading to drug and device optimization.

Delivering drugs directly to the site of pain is a growing field — especially for very expensive drugs. For example, pain medication delivered directly to the spine decreases the amount of time a drug travels through the body. However, the transport environment in the spinal cord must be taken into account when designing direct-infusion therapies. By combining medical imaging with fluid dynamics analysis, researchers can develop methods for predicting drug distribution.

Using this same model, healthcare professionals can further analyze the effectiveness of different injection protocols, such as continuous vs. discontinuous injections or the effect of injection site on drug distribution. Image-based modeling could lead to customized medical care that inherently factors in patient-specific physiological differences.

The current best example is the development of drugs that can be inhaled rather than injected. Pharmaceutical researchers use ANSYS software on the cutting edge of developing a delivery system for dry powder inhalers, or DPIs.  Using fluid dynamics simulations, researchers have been able to understand how the inhaler works and improve its performance, ensuring that as much of the drug as possible gets to body’s exact site. Virtual simulation is now being used to guide device design modifications.

The virtual model of drug delivery allows doctors to evaluate and optimize device design, as well as to consider patient-specific geometries. Put together, these efforts will go a long way toward reducing the time to market as well as the costs of testing and certification.

Courtesy BD Technologies and ICEM CFD Engineering.

Multilumen tubing

Courtesy A.C. Ghigny.